Skip to content Skip to main menu


"The best things come in small packages."
Anne Enright

The Sunday Times Audible Short Story Award is the world’s richest and most prestigious prize for a single short story, with £30,000 going to the winner.

Co-founded in 2010 by Lord Matthew Evans of EFG Private Bank and The Sunday Times’s Cathy Galvin, the award is now sponsored in its 10th year by Audible, the spoken word publisher.

Winners and shortlistees of the prize, which is international in reach and rewards stories of outstanding literary merit, have included some of the world's great writers, including Pulitzer Prize-winners Junot Díaz, Anthony Doerr and Adam Johnson, and Kevin Barry, Emma Donoghue, Mark Haddon, Sarah Hall, Bret Anthony Johnston, Yiyun Li, Hilary Mantel, Ali Smith, CK Stead, Elizabeth Strout, Jonathan Tel, David Vann and Gerard Woodward.

The prize also prides itself - through the blind reading undertaken by its judges - on discovering and promoting new and emerging writers. This year's winner was the Irish writer Danielle McLaughlin.

Over 1,350 writers entered the award in 2019, with stories coming from 40 different countries and every continent except Antarctica. Entries must be of 6,000 words or less, must be written in English, and must be either unpublished or, for the 2020 award, not published before January 1, 2019. The author must have a track record of published creative writing in the UK or Ireland.

The judges over the past ten years have reflected the power and prestige of the award, and have included Melvyn Bragg, AS Byatt, John Carey, Sarah Churchwell, Carys Davies, Kit de Waal, Anne Enright, Sir Richard Eyre, Sebastian Faulks, Aminatta Forna, Petina Gappah, Tessa Hadley, Mark Haddon, Nick Hornby, Hanif Kureishi, Mark Lawson, Blake Morrison, Neel Mukherjee, Andrew O’Hagan, Will Self, Elif Shafak, Lionel Shriver, Rose Tremain, Joanna Trollope and Sarah Waters.

A feature of the 2020 award will be an Audible audiobook anthology of the shortlisted stories, which has dramatically broadened the audience for the short story, and allow the award's stories to be enjoyed in a brand new way. Shortlisted authors will receive an extra £1,000 fee, on top of a prize payment of £1,000, for being included in the anthology.

Entries for the 2020 will open on Sunday, October 20 and will close Friday, December 13. The winner will be announced on Thursday, July 2 2020.

Previous winners

2010 - C.K. Stead for Last Season’s Man

2011 - Anthony Doerr for The Deep

2012 – Kevin Barry for Beer Trip to Llandudno

2013 – Junot Diaz for Miss Lora

2014 – Adam Johnson for Nirvana

2015 – Yiyun Li for A Sheltered Woman

2016 – Jonathan Tel for The Human Phonograph

2017 – Bret Anthony Johnston for Half of What Atlee Rouse Knows About Horses

2018 – Courtney Zoffness for Peanuts Aren't Nuts

2019 – Danielle McLaughlin for A Partial List of the Saved

The Sunday Times

The Sunday Times, founded in 1822, is Britain’s best-selling quality newspaper. It celebrated its 10,000th edition in May 2016 and has won a clutch of awards for its Insight team investigations unit, its foreign reporting and its magazine features and interviews, in particular.

At the 2018 Press Awards The Sunday Times won Scoop of the Year, Supplement of the Year for The Sunday Times Magazine, Columnist of the Year for Niall Ferguson, Travel Journalist of the Year for Martin Hemming and Young Journalist of the Year for Gabriel Pogrund.