Skip to content Skip to main menu

The 2013 longlist

Sixteen authors made it onto the Longlist for the 2013 Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award.


CD Rose

With their story: 'Arkady Who Couldn’t See and Artem Who Couldn’t Hear'

CD Rose is from Manchester and is the author of The Biographical Dictionary of Literary Failure. His short fiction has been published in Parenthesis: A New Generation in Short Fiction.


Samuel Wright

With their story: 'Best Friend'

Samuel Wright is an English teacher in North London. His stories have been shortlisted for the Bristol Short Story Prize 2012 and the Aesthetica Creative Writing Competition 2012, come third in the Bridport Flash Fiction Prize 2011, and won the Unbound Press Short Story Prize 2011 and the Writers and Artists Yearbook Prize 2011.


Toby Litt

With their story: 'Call It “The Bug” Because I Have No Time to Think of a Better Title'

Toby Litt is an English writer and academic in the Department of English and Humanities at Birkbeck, University of London. His books includes two collections of short stories and several novels. In 2003 he was nominated by Granta magazine as one of the 20 Best of Young British Novelists.


Caroline Adderson

With their story: 'Erection Man'

Canadian writer Caroline Adderson is the author of four novels (A History of Forgetting, Sitting Practice, The Sky Is Falling, Ellen in Pieces), two collections of short stories (Bad Imaginings, Pleased to Meet You) as well as books for young readers. Her work has received numerous prize nominations, including the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, two Commonwealth Writers’ Prizes, the Scotiabank Giller Prize longlist, the Governor General’s Literary Award and the Rogers’ Trust Fiction Prize. Winner of two Ethel Wilson Fiction Prizes and three CBC Literary Awards, Caroline was the recipient of the 2006 Marian Engel Award for mid-career achievement.


Sarah Hall

With their story: 'Evie'

Sarah Hall is the author of Haweswater, which won the 2003 Commonwealth Writers Prize for Best First Novel, a Society of Authors Betty Trask Award, and a Lakeland Book of the Year prize. In 2004, her second novel, The Electric Michelangelo, was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize and was longlisted for the Orange Prize for Fiction. Her fourth novel, How To Paint A Dead Man, published in 2009, was longlisted for the Man Booker prize and won the 2010 Portico Prize. Her first collection of short stories, The Beautiful Indifference (2011) won the Portico Prize for Fiction 2012 and the Edge Hill short story prize, and was also short-listed for the Frank O’Connor Prize. Sarah won the BBC National Short Story Award in 2013 with Mrs Fox. Her latest novel, The Wolf Border, was published in 2015.


Belinda McKeon

With their story: 'Eyes On Me, Eyes On You'

Belinda McKeon’s debut novel Solace won the 2011 Faber Prize and was voted Irish Book of the Year, as well as being shortlisted for the James Tait Black Memorial Prize. Her second novel, Tender, was published in the UK in 2015. Her essays and journalism have appeared in the New York Times, the Paris Review, the Guardian, A Public Spaceand elsewhere. As a playwright, she has had work produced in Dublin and New York, and is currently under commission to the Abbey Theatre.


Philomena Kearney Bryne

With their story: 'Honda Fifty'

In June 2012 I was awarded the Francis McManus prize for short fiction. The short story, ‘It’s All a Cod’ was broadcast on RTE Radio 1 on June 18th 2012. Philomena Kearney Byrne is a registered Psychotherapist and Clinical Supervisor working in Co. Leitrim in NorthWest Ireland. In 2012 she was awarded the Francis McManus prize for short fiction for the story It’s All a Cod.


Graham Swift

With their story: 'I Live Alone'

Graham Swift is the author of 10 novels and three collections of short stories. His 1996 novel Last Orders won the Booker Prize. His latest book, Mothering Sunday, was published in February 2016.


Junot Diaz

With their story: 'Miss Lora'

Junot Díaz is the author of Drown (1997) and The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao (2007), which won the National Book Critics Circle Award and the Pulitzer Prize in 2008. His most recent publication (in which ‘Miss Lora’ appears) is This Is How You Lose Her (2012), a collection of linked narratives about love told through the lives of New Jersey Dominicans, as they struggle to find a point where their two worlds meet. He is the recipient of a PEN/Malamud Award and the Dayton Literary Peace Prize. Born in Santo Domingo, Díaz is also a professor at MIT.


Claire Vaye Watkins

With their story: 'Rondine al Nido'

Claire Vaye Watkins was born in Bishop, California in 1984. Her stories and essays have appeared in Granta, The Paris Review, The New York Times and many other publications. She is the author of Gold Fame Citrus and Battleborn, which won the Story Prize, the Dylan Thomas Prize, New York Public Library’s Young Lions Fiction Award, the Rosenthal Family Foundation Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and a Silver Pen Award from the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame.


Helen Dunmore

With their story: 'Spotted Dick'

Helen Dunmore is a British poet, novelist and children’s writer. A Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature , she has written 14 novels, most recently Exposure, three short story collections, 10 poetry collections and numerous books for children and young readers. Her novel A Spell of Winter won the 1996 Orange Prize.


Mark McNay

With their story: 'Ten Years Too Late'

Mark McNay was born in 1965 and brought up in a mining village in central Scotland. He joined the UEA creative writing course in 1999 and graduated in 2003 with distinction. His first novel, Fresh, won the Arts Foundation New Fiction Award 2007 and the Saltire First Book of the Year Award.


Ali Smith

With their story: 'The Beholder'

Ali Smith is the author of five collections of short stories and seven novels, including How to Be Both, which was shorlisted for the 2014 Man Booker Prize and the Folio Prize and won the 2014 Goldsmiths Prize, the 2015 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction and the Novel Award in the 2014 Costa Book Awards. She was made a CBE in 2015.


Cynan Jones

With their story: 'The Dig'

Cynan Jones is a Welsh writer, who lives and works in Ceredigion. Jones published his first novel, The Long Dry, in 2006. He later published three novels between 2011 and 2014. His short stories have appeared in a number of anthologies and publications such as Granta and New Welsh Review.

Mark Haddon

Mark Haddon

With their story: 'The Gun'

Mark Haddon is the author of three novels, including The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and The Red House. He has written scripts for TV and radio and a play, Polar Bears, for The Donmar Warehouse. The Pier Falls, a collection of his short stories will be published in May 2016.


Adam Foulds

With their story: 'Tunnelling'

Adam Foulds is the author of three novel and the verse novella The Broken Word.
He is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award and the Somerset Maugham Award. In 2013 he was included in the Granta list of 20 best young writers. His second novel The Quickening Maze was shortlisted for the Man Booker prize.