Skip to content Skip to main menu

The 2015 shortlist

Yiyun Li

Yiyun Li

With their story: 'A Sheltered Woman'

Yiyun Li grew up in Beijing and came to the United States in 1996. Her debut collection, A Thousand Years of Good Prayers, won the Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award, PEN/Hemingway Award, Guardian First Book Award, and California Book Award for first fiction. Her novel, The Vagrants, won the gold medal of California Book Award for fiction, and was shortlisted for Dublin IMPAC Award. Gold Boy, Emerald Girl, her second collection, was a finalist of Story Prize and shortlisted for Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award. Kinder Than Solitude, her latest novel, was published to critical acclaim. Her books have been translated into more than 20 languages.

Read an excerpt


Paula Morris

With their story: 'False River'

Paula Morris is a fiction writer of Maori and English descent from New Zealand. Paula is the author of four novels published by Penguin NZ. Rangatira (2011), about a group of Maori who visited England in 1863, won best work of fiction at the 2012 New Zealand Post Book Awards and the Nga Kupu Ora Maori Book Awards. She is also the author of four novels for young adults, including the The Eternal City.

Read an excerpt

Elizabteh McCracken

Elizabeth McCracken

With their story: 'Hungry'

Elizabeth McCracken is the author of two novels, The Giant’s House and Niagara Falls All Over Again, two short story collections, Here’s Your Hat, What’s Your Hurry and Thunderstruck & Other Stories, and a memoir, An Exact Replica of a Figment of My Imagination.

She has won grants and awards from the Guggenheim Foundation, the American Academy of Arts and Letters, The American Academy in Berlin, among other places. 

Read an excerpt


Scott O'Connor

With their story: 'Interstellar Space'

Scott O’Connor was born in Syracuse, New York. Untouchable, his first novel, was published in 2011 and won the Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Award. His second novel, Half World, was published in 2014. He lives with his family in Los Angeles.

Read an excerpt


Rebecca F John

With their story: 'The Glove Maker’s Numbers'

Rebecca F John was born in 1986 in south Wales. She holds a BA Hons in English with Creative Writing and MA in Creative Writing from Swansea University. Her short stories have been broadcast on BBC Radio 4, and she is the winner of the PEN International New Voices Award 2015. Her first short story collection, Clown’s Shoes, was published in 2015.

Read an excerpt


Madeleine Thien

With their story: 'The Wedding Cake'

Madeleine Thien is the author of three books of fiction, including a collection of stories, Simple Recipes (2002). Her most recent novel, Dogs at the Perimeter (2012), set in the aftermath of the civil war in Cambodia, was shortlisted for Germany’s 2014 International Literature Prize. A new novel, Awake Now and Cross Towards Her, is forthcoming.

Read an excerpt