Skip to content Skip to main menu
2020 Short Story Award logo

Promoting & celebrating the excellence of the modern short story

The Sunday Times Audible Short Story Award is the richest prize for a single short story in the English language, worth £30,000 to the winner. The award, for a story of 6,000 words or less, is open to any novelist or short story writer from around the world who has been published in the UK or Ireland.

The submission period for the 2019 award closed at 6pm on February 15, 2019. The longlist will be announced in June 2019, the shortlist in July 2019, and the winner will be announced on September 12, 2019.

To find out more about the prize, and our new sponsorship with Audible, click on About.

2019 winner


Danielle McLaughlin takes the top spot with 'A Partial List of the Saved'

The Irish writer, Danielle McLaughlin, won the 2019 Sunday Times Audible Short Story Award for her story 'A Partial List of the Saved'

Read the winning story

Latest news for the 2019 award

Lina Protopapa, award-winning translator

Lina Protopapa: inside the world of an award-winning literary translator

15th October 2019

The award-winning translator Lina Protopapa talks about the joys and challenges of translating short fiction: ‘One of the tasks that the translator is called upon to carry out is to continuously hold count of what is lost in a translation'

Read the interview

The 2019 Shortlist

Enter Our Competition to Win 2019's Exclusive Shortlist Audiobook Anthology

27th September 2019

Twenty lucky winners will receive a year's subscription to Audible UK

Read the article

50234_News Corp - SSA logo - landscape - ribbon.png

2019's Shortlist Discuss Their Writing

23rd September 2019

2019 has been a stand-out year for the Award. Here the shortlist discuss their stories, writing process and much more

Read the article

A look back at the 2018 winner

Courtney Zoffness

Courtney Zoffness took the top spot with her story 'Peanuts Aren't Nuts'

The American writer, Courtney Zoffness, won the 2018 Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award for her story Peanuts Aren't Nuts.

Read the winning story