Skip to content Skip to main menu

The 2019 judges

One of the great strengths of The Sunday Times Audible Short Story Award is the quality and experience of its judging panels which have featured an array of outstanding writers.

Andrew Holgate

Andrew Holgate

Andrew Holgate has been the Literary Editor of The Sunday Times since 2008. Amongst many other prizes and awards, he has previously been a judge for the Samuel Johnson Prize, the Orwell Prize, the Somerset Maugham Awards and the Betty Trask Prize. He is also a member of the Folio Prize Academy.

Blake Morrison

Blake Morrison

Born in Yorkshire, Blake Morrison is a poet, novelist and librettist, as well as the author of two bestselling memoirs, And When Did You Last See Your Father and Things My Mother Never Told Me. He co-edited The Penguin Book of Contemporary British Poetry with Andrew Motion, wrote a study of the Bulger case, and has had two of his books adapted for film and television. His latest publications are a collection of poems, Shingle Street, and a novel, The Executor, which came out last year. He is Professor of Creative Writing at Goldsmiths College, London.

Carys Davies.jpg

Carys Davies

Carys Davies is the author of two collections of short stories, Some New Ambush and The Redemption of Galen Pike, which won the Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award and the Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Prize. Her debut novel, West, was shortlisted for the Rathbones Folio Prize, runner up for the McKitterick Prize, and winner of the Wales Book of the Year for fiction. Her new novel, The Mission House, will be out in August.

Kit de Waal.jpeg

Kit de Waal

Kit de Waal writes novels, short stories and flash fiction for which she has won numerous awards. Her debut novel, My Name is Leon wonthe Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year and was shortlisted for the Costa Debut Novel, the British Book Awards Debut and the Desmond Elliott Prize. In 2016, she founded the Kit de Waal Scholarship at Birkbeck University. Her monologue Imagine That was performed at The Old Vic as part of the celebration of 100 Years of Suffrage and her second novel, The Trick to Time, longlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction is released in paperback this summer as is her first YA novel, Becoming Dinah. She is also the editor of Common People, an anthology of working class writing which is published on May Day.

Sarah Churchwell.jpg

Sarah Churchwell

Sarah Churchwell is Professor in American Literature and Chair of Public Understanding of the Humanities at the School of Advanced Study, University of London. She is the author of Careless People: Murder, Mayhem and The Invention of The Great Gatsby, The Many Lives of Marilyn Monroe, and most recently, Behold, America: A History of America First and the American Dream. She has written for the New York Review of Books, Guardian, New Statesman, Financial Times, Times Literary Supplement and New York Times Book Review, among many others, and comments regularly on arts, culture, and politics for UK television and radio, where appearances include Question Time, Newsnight and The Review Show. She has judged many literary prizes, including the 2014 Man Booker Prize and the 2017 Baillie Gifford Prize for nonfiction, and she was a co-winner of the 2015 Eccles British Library Writer’s Award.