Skip to content Skip to main menu

The 2020 judges

One of the great strengths of The Sunday Times Audible Short Story Award is the quality and experience of its judging panels which have featured an array of outstanding writers.

Andrew Holgate

Andrew Holgate

Andrew Holgate has been the Literary Editor of The Sunday Times since 2008. Amongst many other prizes and awards, he has previously been a judge for the Samuel Johnson Prize, the Orwell Prize, the Somerset Maugham Awards and the Betty Trask Prize. He is also a member of the Folio Prize Academy.

Carys Davies.jpg

Carys Davies

Carys Davies is the author of two collections of short stories, Some New Ambush and The Redemption of Galen Pike, which won the Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award and the Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Prize. Her debut novel, West, was shortlisted for the Rathbones Folio Prize, runner up for the McKitterick Prize, and winner of the Wales Book of the Year for fiction. Her new novel, The Mission House, will be out in August.

DAVID NICHOLLS - author photo 2019. Credit Sophia Spring USE (1).jpg

David Nicholls

David Nicholls is the bestselling author of Starter for Ten, The Understudy, One Day and Us. David’s novels have sold over 8 million copies worldwide and are published in forty languages. His most recent novel is Sweet Sorrow, which was published in 2019.

One Day was published in 2009 to extraordinary critical acclaim and became a no. 1 Sunday Times bestseller, winning the 2010 Galaxy Book of the Year Award. David was named Author of the Year at the 2014 National Book Awards after his fourth novel, Us, was another no. 1 bestseller and longlisted for the Man Booker Prize for Fiction.

David is also a successful screenwriter. His first screenwriting break came when he wrote for the third series of Cold Feet. Highlights since then have included adapting Far From the Madding Crowd and Great Expectations – as well as his own novels Starter for Ten and One Day - into feature films. His most recent screenwork was Patrick Melrose, starring Benedict Cumberbatch, which he adapted from the novels by Edward St Aubyn.

Diana Evans biog.docx

Diana Evans

Diana Evans is the author of the novels Ordinary People, The Wonder and 26a. She has received many awards and nominations for her work, including most recently the South Bank Sky Arts Award for Literature for Ordinary People, which was in addition shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction, the Rathbones Folio Prize and the Orwell Prize for Political Fiction. She was the inaugural winner of the Orange Award for New Writers for 26a. She also writes short fiction, essays and literary criticism and is an associate lecturer in Creative Writing at Goldsmiths, University of London.

Romesh Gunesekera cr Chris Dawes.jpg

Romesh Gunesekera

Romesh Gunesekera is the author of many acclaimed works of fiction including Reef, which was shortlisted for the 1994 Booker Prize, The Sandglass, winner of the inaugural BBC Asia Award, and The Match, a ground-breaking cricket novel. His debut collection of stories, Monkfish Moon, was a New York Times Notable Book. Noontide Toll, published in 2014, captured a vital moment in post-war Sri Lanka. His latest novel, Suncatcher, returns to an earlier era and a story of divided loyalties and endangered friendship in the Ceylon of the 1960s.

His fiction has been translated into over a dozen languages and he is the recipient of many awards including a Premio Mondello in Italy. He was born in Colombo and lives in London. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature.

He was the chair of judges for the 2015 Commonwealth Short Story Prize and has also judged many other prizes including the Caine Prize and Granta’s Best of Young British Novelists 2013.

You can reach him at