Skip to content Skip to main menu

Audible is announced as the new sponsor of the world's richest prize for a short story

The leading provider of spoken word entertainment will join forces with The Sunday Times to produce an audio anthology for The Sunday Times Audible Short Story Award 2019, now in its tenth year.

Audible has joined forces with The Sunday Times to sponsor The Sunday Times Audible Short Story Award 2019 as it enters its tenth year. The world’s richest and most prestigious prize for an English-language single short story, the Award has attracted some of the finest literary talent from around the world in the decade since it was inaugurated.

In a ground-breaking agreement, Audible will produce an audio anthology of the stories shortlisted in 2019, making the stories available in audio for the first time. Through this new sponsorship, the prize aims to significantly increase the audience for short stories, whilst raising the profile of its shortlisted writers.

The Award already boasts an impressive track record for attracting short fiction; it receives over 1,000 entries each year from all over the world. Last year saw entries from seven continents and 38 countries.

Previously sponsored by EFG Private Bank, the prize is worth £30,000 to the winner, with the shortlisted authors receiving £1,000 each.

Previous winners of the award include three Pulitzer Prize-winning American authors - Junot Díaz, Anthony Doerr and Adam Johnson - as well as Chinese-American novelist Yiyun Li, CK Stead from New Zealand, Jonathan Tel from the UK, Bret Anthony Johnston from America, and Kevin Barry from Ireland. Shortlisted authors include Colum McCann, Petina Gappah, Hilary Mantel, Emma Donoghue, Elizabeth Strout, Ali Smith, David Vann, Gerard Woodward, Curtis Sittenfeld and Miranda July. The 2018 winner was American writer Courtney Zoffness.

Andrew Holgate, literary editor of the Sunday Times comments: ‘I am absolutely thrilled that Audible have agreed to be the new sponsors of the Sunday Times Short Story Award. The prize has come a very long way in a short time, but this new partnership represents a significant step change, and will take both the award, and the short story that we are working so hard to champion, into many more households around the world than ever before.’

Tracey Markham, SVP and UK country manager at Audible, comments: ‘Listeners and creatives are flocking to audio after the success of our own recent short story collection, our listeners have told us they are excited for more brilliant short fiction. We are delighted to be teaming up with one of the short story's biggest champions, The Sunday Times, to find the best stories out there and give Audible members access to more of the best original content. We can't wait to hear the shortlisted stories and we couldn't be more thrilled to bring them to audio and give them a bigger audience than every before.’

As well as its notable list of winners and shortlistees, one of the features of the prize has been its distinguished list of judges, who have included Sebastian Faulks, Tessa Hadley, Joanna Trollope, Richard Eyre, Lionel Shriver, AS Byatt, Nick Hornby, Hanif Kureishi, Mark Haddon, Will Self, David Baddiel, Sarah Hall, Rose Tremain, Sir Melvyn Bragg and John Carey.

The judges read the entries ‘blind’, without knowing the author’s identity. The success of past judging panels has seen the Award celebrate not only the work of literary giants, but allowed it to discover and promote new and emerging talent such as Jessie Greengrass, Roshi Fernando, Rebecca F John, and last year's winner Courtney Zoffness.

The judges this year will be looking for an outstanding English-language story of 6,000 words or under from a fiction author from anywhere in the world who has been published in the UK or Ireland. The deadline for entries is 15th February 2019. The winner will be announced on Thursday 12th September 2019.

For full details of the Award visit:

Keep up-to-date with the Award via Twitter and Facebook

The latest news from Audible can be found at: / /

About the Award

Originally launched by Lord Evans of EFG Private Bank and Cathy Galvin of The Sunday Times in 2010, The Sunday Times Audible Short Story Award is the richest prize for a single short story in the English language. Worth £30,000 to the winner, the international annual award aims to promote and celebrate the excellence of the modern short story, and has attracted entries from some of the world’s finest writers.

The Sunday Times Audible Short Story Award Advisory Board

The Sunday Times Audible Short Story Award has also constituted an advisory board, to oversee best practice for the award and secure its future growth. The board consists of:

Toby Mundy, former CEO Atlantic Books, MD, TMA Agency, and Chair of the Advisory Board

Ed Vaizey MP, Minister for Culture, Communications and Creative Industries, 2010-2016

Stig Abell, Editor of the Times Literary Supplement

Venetia Butterfield, Publishing Director, Viking Books

Professor Sarah Churchwell, Chair of Public Understanding of the Humanities/Professorial Fellow in American Literature, IEF School of Advance Study, University of London

Cathy Galvin, co-founder of the Sunday Times Short Story Award, and founder, Word Factory

Andrew Holgate, Literary Editor, The Sunday Times

Stuart Roden, Chairman, Lansdowne Partners

Tessa Ross, Film Producer, former Head of Film4 and former Chief Executive of the Royal National Theatre

Kate Skipper, Chief Buyer, Waterstones

Previous Winners

2018 Courtney Zoffness

2017 Bret Anthony Johnston

2016 Jonathan Tel

2015 Yiyun Li

2014 Adam Johnson

2013 Junot Diaz

2012 Kevin Barry

2011 Anthony Doerr

2010 CK Stead

About The Sunday Times

The Sunday Times, founded in 1822, is Britain’s best-selling quality newspaper. It celebrated its 10,000th edition in May 2016 and has won a clutch of awards for its Insight team investigations unit, its foreign reporting and its magazine features and interviews, in particular. At the 2018 Press Awards The Sunday Times won Scoop of the Year, Supplement of the Year for The Sunday Times Magazine, Columnist of the Year for Niall Ferguson, Travel Journalist of the Year for Martin Hemming and Young Journalist of the Year for Gabriel Pogrund.

About Audible

Audible is the leading provider of digital spoken word entertainment, offering people a new way to enhance and enrich their lives every day with more than 300,000 audio programmes from leading audiobook publishers, broadcasters and entertainers. Among the acclaimed performers who have narrated works of literature for Audible are Stephen Fry, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Lily Collins, Emma Thompson and Thandie Newton. Audible Studios has won a Grammy Award, for its production of Janis Ian’s memoir Society’s Child, and has also been recognised with the Audie Award for Audiobook of the Year, for Colin Firth’s performance of Graham Greene’s The End of the Affair.

See more news articles